The Open

Royal St Georges


We're an affiliate

We hope you love the products we recommend! Just so you know, we may collect a share of sales or other compensation from the links on this page. Thank you if you use our links, we really appreciate it!! Tony

The Course

The golf club was founded in 1887 as a wild duneland course by Laidlaw Purves on the edge of Pegwell Bay in Sandwich. It started a s a wild course and has been altered a lot since those days but still possesses the deepest bunker in championship golf, cut into a sand dune on the 4th. The course was given Royal patronage in May 1902 by King Edward V11 and is regarded as one of the best links courses and is the only one in Southern England to host the Open Golf Championships.

This will be the 15th occasion that the open golf has been held at Royal St Georges since 1894.

One final notable fact Author Ian Fleming used the Royal St. George’s course under the name “Royal St. Marks” in his 1959 novel Goldfinger..

The holes


Is about 90 miles from London as is very close to Dover on the South coast of Kent. The town is one of the Cinque ports although the town is about 2 miles from the sea. The center of the town is still very historic and well worth some time to view, if time permits.

Previous winners

Here are the previous winners:

1894  – J.H Taylor.

1899 – Harry Vardon.

1904 – Jack White.

1911 – Harry Vardon.

1922 – Walter Hagen.

1928 – Walter Hagen.

1934 – Henry Cotton.

1949 – Bobby Locke.

1981 – Bill Rogers.

1985 – Sandy Lyle.

1993 – Greg Norman.

2003 – Ben Curtis.

2011 – Darren Clarke

2021 ??

Similar Posts